Advisory Council 2018-09-10T08:05:46+00:00

Advisory Council

The Department Advisory Council, a group that was instituted by the state legislature in the Grad Act law, is a group of advisors comprising representatives from academia, business and industry, and the local community. This group serves to help the department to be responsive to the needs of our stakeholders. The council meets once a year to provide feedback and ideas on current departmental issues and future challenges.

2018-20 Advisory Council members:

R. Allyce Hill Bailey
Attorney, Turner Padget P.A., Columbia, SC. BA English NSU; JD Southern University Law School.

Matt Barton
Professor of English, St. Cloud State University, MN. BA English, MA English, NSU. PhD Rhetoric and Composition, University of South Florida.

Angelin Borsics
Editor, Clarkson Potter (Random House). BA English, MA English NSU. Editor, 2015 James Beard Foundation Award winners “The Kitchn Cookbook” (general cooking) and “In Her Kitchn” (photography).

Susie Scifres Kuilan Bryant
Associate Dean of Strategic Security and Protection Management, National American University, Rapid City, SD; Brigadier General, U.S. Army Reserve. BA English, MA English, NSU. Former English Instructor, NSU.

Lauren Atterbury Cesar
English teacher, Iowa High School, Iowa, LA. BA English NSU; MA Teaching Louisiana College. 2018-19 Calcasieu Parish Teacher of the Year. Author, multiple volumes in the “Louisiana English Language Arts Guidebook Compatible Workbook” series.

Geoffrey Clegg
Assistant Professor of Business and Technical Writing, Midwestern State University, Wichita Falls, TX. BA English NSU; PhD, English Composition & Rhetoric, Northern Illinois University.

Khirsten Doolan
Ph.D. student, English, University of Louisiana-Lafayette. BA English, MA English, NSU. Former English Graduate Assistant, NSU.

Tish Felts
Training and Communications, Transocean Ltd, Houston, TX. BA English, MA English, NSU.

Andy Ferrell
Chief, Architecture and Engineering, National Center for Preservation Technology and Training, Natchitoches, LA.

Cheryl Garrett
Ph.D. student, English, University of Alabama. BA English, MA English, NSU. Former English Graduate Assistant, NSU.

Courtney Hornsby
Chief of Staff, City of West Monroe, LA. Former President, West Monroe/West Ouachita Chamber of Commerce. BA Journalism (minor in French), MA English, NSU.

David Horton
English Graduate Assistant, NSU (2017-present). MA English, NSU (December 2018).

Julie Kane
Professor Emeritus of English, NSU. Former Poet Laureate of Louisiana.

Jessica McGrath
Director, Natchitoches Parish Public Library, Natchitoches, LA. BA Elementary Education, NSU; Master’s in Library Science, Texas Woman’s University.

Jeremy Orgeron
French tutor, Foreign Language Resource Center, NSU (2017-present). BA English, NSU (May 2020).

Thomas Parrie
Instructor, Southeastern Louisiana University; 2018 Indigenous Writer in Residence at the School for Advanced Research, Santa Fe, NM. MA English, NSU; MFA, McNeese State University.

Raley Pellittieri
Editor, Enterprise and Interstate Progress, Mansfield, LA. BA English, NSU.

Courtney Sharkey
STEAM Center Administrator for the Allen, Texas school district; contributing author, “Chicken Soup for the Soul.” BA English, MA Educational Leadership, NSU.

Sherry Talton
Attorney, Jackson Lewis P.C., Seattle, WA. BA English, NSU; MA English, JD University of Texas at Austin. Former member, NSU Debate Team (1994 National Champions).


Jim Mischler
Department Chair, English, Foreign Languages, and Cultural Studies, NSU.

Suzanne Kucera
Administrative Assistant, English, Foreign Languages, and Cultural Studies, NSU.